Google will no longer automatically back up images and videos from social media platforms in its photo app.
Google said the changes were to save internet resources as “people are sharing more photos and videos” during the Covid-19 pandemic.
The feature used up bandwidth and took up memory on devices.
Earlier this year, YouTube and Netflix made similar moves to reduce internet traffic, as more people were using broadband at home due to the coronavirus lockdown.
An XDA developer told news site Android Police the following apps were affected:
Photos and videos that have already been backed up from messaging apps are not affected and you can turn the feature back on if you wish to use it.
How to back up specific photos and videos:
How to change your back-up settings for device folders:
Also Follow us on Facbook, Twitter, Instagram For Give Away!