HOW TO

How To Stop People from Adding You to Groups on Instagram

Can You Stop People from Adding You to Groups on Instagram
How To Stop People from Adding You to Groups on Instagram.

In a common Instagram spam strategy, an obviously fake account adds you (and a load of other victims) to a gaggle chat. Unfortunately, counting on what quite account you’ve got , you would possibly not be ready to stop it from happening. Here’s what you’ll do instead.

If you’ve got knowledgeable or Business Instagram Account
If you’ve got knowledgeable Instagram profile, you’re in luck. you’ll control who can add you to groups.

To do so, open Instagram and attend your Profile. Tap the three-line menu icon within the top-right corner.

Tap the menu button.

Tap “Settings” in the menu.

Tap "Settings."

Tap “Privacy” on the Settings screen.

Tap "Privacy."

Tap the “Messages” option on the Privacy screen.

Tap "Messages."

Tap “Only people you follow” under “Allow others to add you to groups.”

Tap "Only people you follow."

Now, only accounts that you simply follow are going to be ready to add you to talk groups.

If you’ve got a private Instagram Account
If you’ve got a private Instagram account like most of the people , there’s currently no thanks to stop someone from adding you to a group—even if your account is about to non-public . This was the case as of March 2021. Yes, this is often pretty ridiculous, but we’re hopeful that Instagram will roll out a fix soon.

Instead, you’ve got three options:

Turn off notifications for group requests.
Leave the group.
Block the account that added you.
To turn off notifications for group requests, attend your Profile, tap the menu icon within the top-right corner, then tap Settings > Notifications > Direct Messages.

Tap "Direct Messages."

Under Group Requests, tap “Off.”

Tap "Off" under Group Requests.

Now, at least when someone adds you to a group, you won’t get a push notification.

To leave a group chat, first, tap the “i” icon in the top-right corner of the chat.

Tap the "i" button.

Tap “Leave Chat” under the list of chat members, then tap “Leave.”

Tap "Leave Chat."

If you want to block the account that added you, first, tap the three little dots next to the account’s name under Members.

Tap the "..." button to the right of a member.

Tap “Block” to block that chat.

Tap "Block."

This will stop the spammer from re-adding you to the group. (You also can tap Report > It’s Spam. However, this won’t remove you from the group or block the sender.)

Click to comment

Leave a Comment Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top