HOW TO

What is Vanish mode on Facebook Messenger and Instagram? ‣ TechReen

[ad_1]

Facebook Messenger merging with Instagram messages has had a good reaction from users of both camps. The update also introduced several new and exciting features such as chat themes, custom emoji reactions, and Vanish modes. If you’re curious about the Vanish mode on Messenger and Instagram, you’ve come to the right place. Here we will explain the meaning of Vanish mode and how to use it.

In this post, we have explained what Vanish Mode is and various questions you may have regarding the new feature. We also covered how to enable or disable the Vanish mode. Let’s begin.

What does Vanish mode mean on Facebook Messenger and Instagram?

Vanish mode (self-destructing messages on Facebook and Instagram) can be considered as the powerful version of the unsubscribe function of sending a message. Often, we don’t send messages if we don’t want both parties to keep track of them. Instead of having you unsubscribe one by one, Facebook helps you to completely remove messages with Vanish mode.

Vanish Mode is a new feature available on Facebook Messenger and Instagram for individual contacts. It works the same on both apps. The mode essentially offers ephemeral messages where the messages automatically disappear after the other person sees them.

Traditionally, messages stayed in your inbox until you deleted them or sent them. When Vanish mode is turned on for a contact, the messages will be deleted from both parties’ inboxes after the other person has read or viewed them. You need to close the chat and the messages will disappear after reopening it. If the other person has yet to see the message, the message will still be visible to you too.

Note: You can keep Vanish mode enabled for multiple chats at the same time. However, Vanish mode doesn’t work for group chats.

Vanish mode sends screenshot notifications

One of the important features offered by the Vanish mode is the notification of screenshots. If you take a screenshot when Vanish mode is on, the other person will be notified. So be careful. However, screenshot notifications are not sent when you screenshot normal messages.

What kind of messages can be sent in Vanish mode

You can send all kinds of messages when Vanish mode is on. These include text messages, voice notes, photos, stickers, GIFs, etc. All will disappear after the other person sees them.

The other person will know that Vanish mode is on

Vanish mode is activated for both sides, i.e. sender and recipient of the message. They will see a different screen with Vanish mode written promptly on the chat. So yes, the other person will be aware of the Vanish mode. Additionally, the other person has the right to disable Vanish mode.

What happens to old messages?

When you turn on Vanish mode, you will see a blank screen devoid of your old messages. But do not worry. Messages sent outside of Vanish mode will remain unchanged. As soon as you deactivate the mode, you can see your sent messages. Basically, old messages won’t go away if Vanish mode is enabled or disabled.

How long does the Vanish mode stay active

Vanish mode remains active until you manually disable it. even if you close the chat and reopen it, you can start chatting directly in Vanish mode if it is active. However, the messages that disappear once viewed elsewhere and the chat window will close.

Can you cancel sending messages in Vanish Mode?

Interestingly, you can cancel sending messages even while in Vanish mode. So if you accidentally sent a wrong message, just cancel it. This message will immediately disappear from the chat.

How to activate Vanish mode to delete messages?

Open the chat in Facebook Messenger or Instagram that you want to enable Vanish mode for. Swipe up from the bottom to the top of the chat until you see a Vanish mode screen. Alternatively, go to individual chat settings and enable Vanish mode.

How to disable Vanish mode?

To get rid of Vanish mode, swipe from bottom to top on the chat screen again. Alternatively, tap the Disable Vanish Mode button in the chat.

What happens if i disable Vanish mode?

When you disable Vanish mode, you will be returned to normal chat. You will see your old messages that were sent outside of Vanish mode. And everything will seem normal.

If you deactivate Vanish mode before the other person has seen your message disappear, the message will still arrive as a disappearing message in their inbox. Once viewed, the message will be removed from both parties’ inboxes.

Note: Screenshots captured for disappearing messages after the mode is disabled will also show a notification.

Be careful

By now, you must have realized that Vanish mode is a rather underhanded feature. You might think Facebook had good intentions of introducing this feature. But considering how easy it will be to cheat using this feature, you should be very careful. Be a responsible person and use the function with caution.


Do you like TechReen? We count on you! Follow us on Google News; click here and then Follow. Thank you!

Don’t forget to also follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram!



[ad_2]

Source

Click to comment

Leave a Comment Here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top